Best Educational Board Games for Families, by Age and Subject

/ 30 min read / United Kingdom

By age

  • 1 to 3
  • 3 to 5
  • 5 to 8
  • 8 to 12

Six board games sorted by the age on the maker page, with player counts, languages and the UK offer checked on 8 November 2026. The editorial team did not play these games. A maker age is not a promise of what anyone will learn.

Four people of different ages around a wooden living-room table. A man in a coral polo shirt holds a small green piece. A younger girl in a pink shirt and denim dungarees looks at the table. An older girl in a blue shirt points. A woman in a plaid shirt watches. On the table are stacked pale wooden blocks, loose blocks, a landscape picture board, and a dark blue board with a winding path, planets and numbers.
Stock photo of a group at a living-room table. The photo shows wooden blocks, a landscape picture board and a space-themed path board. Those pieces are not the games reviewed on this page.

The editorial team did not play these games. This page brings together the age, player count, language and play time printed by the maker, then the same facts on the UK Amazon listing checked on 8 November 2026. Where those lines disagree, follow the age and the language on the box in hand. A customer review that mentions a younger player does not change the label.

Calling a game educational here means the maker, or the listing, describes a subject such as map routes, sums, word matching, spelling, history or multiplication. It is not a promise of a reading age, a test score, or a skill gained. Shop prices are not printed. Stock counts are not printed. A catalogue warranty field is not the warranty on the offer you add to the basket.

Quick picks by the maker age

  • Map routes, ages 8+: Ticket to Ride Refresh, SKU DOW7201N, a USA map. Days of Wonder says 8+, 2 to 5 players, 30 to 60 minutes.
  • Multiplication and primes: Prime Climb. The Math for Love game page says ages 10+, or 8+ with adult guidance. No Amazon UK listing was confirmed, so there is no button.
  • Addition and subtraction, ages 5+: Learning Resources Sum Swamp, item LER5052. The UK maker page and the UK listing both say 5+ and 2 to 4 players.
  • Picture and word matching, ages 4+: ThinkFun Zingo, part 44007700. The Ravensburger US page for that item says 4+ and 2 to 6 players. The UK listing title also says 4+. Bullets on that listing say 3+. This guide follows the maker item, not the 3+ bullets.
  • Letter matching, ages 6+: Scrabble Junior, Mattel model Y9667, UK English Edition. The Mattel UK age grade is 6Y+, and the UK listing title says ages 6+. A 5+ line on a Hasbro page is a different edition and is not the age for this pack.
  • History cards, ages 8+: Timeline, 2025 refresh, model ASMZYGTIM0101EN. Zygomatic says 8+, 2 to 6 players, about 15 minutes, 96 cards.

We may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page. It never changes our verdicts. How we review.

Ticket to Ride Refresh, USA map, SKU DOW7201N. Checked 8 November 2026. The featured offer was sold by Red Rock Games Limited, the listing sat under Outlet, and stock was low. The count is not printed because it can change. The lines checked did not label this offer New, Used, or Amazon Resale, and they did not state an Amazon Global Store manufacturer-warranty exclusion. A generic Legal warranty widget is not a manufacturer warranty for that seller. The details checked had no manufacturer-warranty catalogue field. Confirm the offer is new before you order. Listing language: English.

Check price on Amazon

Sum Swamp, item LER5052, ages 5+. Checked 8 November 2026. The featured offer was in stock, shipper and seller Amazon. The lines checked did not label the offer Used, Amazon Resale, or Amazon Global Store, and they did not state a manufacturer-warranty exclusion. No manufacturer-warranty catalogue field was in the details checked. A generic Legal warranty widget is not a manufacturer warranty. The condition word New was not on the lines checked. Confirm the offer is new. The maker page and the listing both say the directions are multilingual, and neither names one language for the pack.

Check price on Amazon

Zingo, part 44007700. Follow the maker age of 4+, not the 3+ bullets. Checked 8 November 2026. The featured offer was Amazon Global Store, shipper and seller Amazon US, sold from abroad, and stock was low. The count is not printed. Amazon states that international products may differ from local products, including age ratings and the language of the product, labelling or instructions, and that the manufacturer warranty will not apply. That offer sentence is not the catalogue field. The catalogue field Manufacturer Warranty Description reads No Warranty. The lines checked did not label the offer Amazon Resale. Confirm condition, language and returns before you order.

Check price on Amazon

Timeline, 2025 refresh, model ASMZYGTIM0101EN, ages 8+. Checked 8 November 2026. The featured offer was in stock, shipper and seller Amazon. The lines checked did not label the offer Used, Amazon Resale, or Amazon Global Store, and they did not state a manufacturer-warranty exclusion. No manufacturer-warranty catalogue field was in the details checked. A generic Legal warranty widget is not a manufacturer warranty. The condition word New was not on the lines checked. Confirm the offer is new. Listing language: English. One bullet says 2 to 8 players. The maker page and the product-details row say 2 to 6.

Check price on Amazon

Age, players, language and the offer

The adult-fit notes are an editorial aid from the rules as printed. They are not a play test. The offer column is the featured offer on 8 November 2026, not a promise of who sells it today.

Maker facts beside the UK offer checked on 8 November 2026. A catalogue warranty field is not the offer warranty. Stock counts are not printed.
Game and SKU Age to follow Players Language Play time Offer that day
Zingo, part 44007700, model number 7700 on the listing 4+ on the Ravensburger US page for item 44007700 (shown there as 4 to 99). UK listing title says 4+. Bullets say 3+. Do not use the 3+ lines to start younger. A recommended-age field says 36 months to 8 years. Do not treat 8 as a maximum. Warning: not under 36 months. 2 to 6 on the US maker page. The UK Ravensburger page, which does not show this item number, says 2 or more. The listing field says 6. A bullet says 2 or more. Listing field says English. The Global Store offer says the language of the product or the instructions may differ. About 20 minutes on the US maker page and on the listing field. Amazon Global Store, sold by Amazon US from abroad, low stock. Amazon states the manufacturer warranty will not apply. The catalogue field says No Warranty. Those are different lines. Not labelled Amazon Resale. Confirm condition, language and returns.
Sum Swamp, LER5052 5+ on the Learning Resources UK page and on the UK title. Recommended-age field: 5 to 9 years. Warning: not under 36 months. 2 to 4 on the maker page and on the listing. Multilingual directions, on the maker page and on the listing. No single language is named. Not stated on the maker text checked. The listing field says 60 minutes. That field is not a maker time. In stock. Shipper and seller Amazon. Not labelled Used, Amazon Resale, or Amazon Global Store. No manufacturer-warranty exclusion and no warranty catalogue field. Confirm the offer is new.
Scrabble Junior, Mattel Y9667, UK English Edition. Age used on this page: 6+. 6+. The Mattel UK age grade for Y9667 is 6Y+. The UK listing title says ages 6+. Bullets on that Mattel page and on the listing say 5 and up. Those bullets do not lower the age grade. A Hasbro US page says 5+. That is a different edition and does not set this pack's age. Toy-safety fields say 1 month and 6 months. Do not use those fields. Warning: not under 36 months. 2 to 4 on the UK title and on the Mattel UK page. The listing's number-of-players field says 4. English. The title says English Edition. Country format on the listing: United Kingdom. Not stated on the Mattel UK page or in the UK listing details checked. Featured offer: in stock, shipper and seller Amazon, with delivery lines of 9 November and 11 November 2026. Not labelled Used, Amazon Resale, or Amazon Global Store. No manufacturer-warranty exclusion. The catalogue field says 5118 Year Limited Warranty. That catalogue line is not the offer warranty.
Ticket to Ride Refresh, USA map, DOW7201N 8+ on Days of Wonder, on the Asmodee UK page for DOW7201N, and on the UK title. The recommended-age field reads 8 to 8 years. Read that as a minimum of 8, not an upper age of 8. The minimum-age recommendation is 96 months. 2 to 5 on the maker page, the Asmodee UK page and the listing. English on the listing. The Asmodee UK page checked did not state a language. Days of Wonder also hosts rule files in other languages. Those files are not proof of the language in this box. 30 to 60 minutes on Days of Wonder and in the listing title. A separate listing field says 30 minutes. Sold by Red Rock Games Limited. Listed under Outlet. Low stock. Not labelled New, Used, Amazon Resale, or Amazon Global Store. No manufacturer-warranty exclusion and no warranty catalogue field. Confirm the featured offer is new.
Ticket to Ride Europe, model DOW7202NA, part DOW7202N 8+ on Days of Wonder, on the Asmodee UK page and on the UK title. Recommended age: 8 years and up. 2 to 5 on Days of Wonder, the Asmodee UK page, the English rules file and the listing. No language row on the UK listing details checked. An English rules file is on the Days of Wonder site. The language in the box was not confirmed. 30 to 60 minutes on Days of Wonder and in the English rules file, and in the listing title. The Asmodee UK shop line says 60 minutes. A listing field says 45 minutes. In stock. Shipper and seller Amazon. Not labelled Used, Amazon Resale, or Amazon Global Store. No manufacturer-warranty exclusion and no warranty catalogue field. Confirm the offer is new, and confirm the language.
Timeline, 2025 refresh, ASMZYGTIM0101EN, part ZYGTIM0101EN 8+ on Zygomatic and on the UK title. The recommended-age field reads 8 to 8 years. Read that as a minimum of 8, not an upper age of 8. A warning says not under 5, with adult supervision. That warning does not lower the 8+ age. 2 to 6 on Zygomatic and in the product details. One bullet says 2 to 8. English on the listing. Zygomatic links an English rulebook. Country of origin on the listing: Spain. About 15 minutes on Zygomatic, in the title and in the listing field. 96 cards on the maker page and on the listing. In stock. Shipper and seller Amazon. Not labelled Used, Amazon Resale, or Amazon Global Store. No manufacturer-warranty exclusion and no warranty catalogue field. Confirm the offer is new.
Timeline Twist, model ASMTIMET01C110EN, part TIMET01B100EN 8+ on the UK title. Recommended age: 8 years and up. Warnings say not under 36 months and not under 10 months. Those warnings are not a start age. A Zygomatic page for this exact model was not found. 2 to 6 on the title and in the product details. No language row in the details checked. The model code ends in EN. That is not a confirmed box language. About 20 minutes on the title and the listing field. A bullet says the game uses 36 cards. The included-components line says 100 cards. Those two counts were not settled. In stock. Featured offer: shipper and seller Amazon. Not labelled Amazon Resale or Amazon Global Store. No manufacturer-warranty exclusion and no warranty catalogue field. A review describes a used box. That review is not the current offer. Confirm the offer is new.
Prime Climb. No UK SKU confirmed. No button. 10+ on the Math for Love game page, or 8+ with adult guidance. The how-to-play page says 10 and up. It also links a separate rules file titled for younger players (6+). That file was not used as the age. This guide does not treat 6+ as the maker age. 2 to 4 on the how-to-play page. The how-to-play page links an English rules file and rule files in other languages. No UK box was checked, because no Amazon UK listing was confirmed. Roughly 10 minutes per player on the how-to-play page. That is not a fixed total. No Amazon UK button. Buy from Math for Love if you want this game, and read the age on that box.
Bar chart titled Minimum age for the reviewed pack. Zingo, Ravensburger 44007700, is 4+. Sum Swamp, Learning Resources UK LER5052, is 5+. Scrabble Junior, Mattel UK Y9667, is 6+. Ticket to Ride Refresh, DOW7201N, is 8+. Ticket to Ride Europe, DOW7202NA, is 8+. Timeline 2025 refresh, Zygomatic, is 8+. The scale runs from 0 to 12. Checked 8 November 2026. Sources named on the chart: ravensburger.us item 44007700, Learning Resources UK LER5052, the Mattel UK page for Y9667, Days of Wonder, Asmodee UK DOW7201N and DOW7202NA, and zygomatic-games.com Timeline.
Minimum age for the reviewed pack. This caption repeats the chart so it can be read on a phone. Zingo, Ravensburger item 44007700, is 4+. Sum Swamp, Learning Resources UK item LER5052, is 5+. Scrabble Junior, Mattel UK model Y9667, is 6+. Ticket to Ride Refresh, DOW7201N, is 8+. Ticket to Ride Europe, DOW7202NA, is 8+. Timeline 2025 refresh, Zygomatic, is 8+. Prime Climb is not on the chart: the Math for Love page says 10+, or 8+ with adult guidance, and this page has no UK pack. Timeline Twist is not on the chart: the UK title says 8+, and a maker page for that model was not found. The chart is not a learning result. Checked 8 November 2026. Sources: ravensburger.us item 44007700, the Learning Resources UK Sum Swamp page, the Mattel UK page for Y9667, Days of Wonder, the Asmodee UK pages for DOW7201N and DOW7202NA, and zygomatic-games.com Timeline.

Ticket to Ride: map routes, ages 8+

The Days of Wonder page for Ticket to Ride says 2 to 5 players, ages 8+, and 30 to 60 minutes. Players collect matching train cards and claim railway routes between cities on a map of North America. Points come from the routes and from destination tickets. That is what the rules ask people to do. It is not a geography qualification, and this page does not claim a planning skill as a result.

The Asmodee UK page for the 2025 refresh, SKU DOW7201N, also says ages 8+ and 2 to 5 players. The text checked there does not state a play time or a language. The UK Amazon listing for that SKU is the Refresh Edition, set name United States, language English, title play time 30 to 60 minutes. A separate estimated-playing-time field says 30 minutes. Use 30 to 60 minutes from Days of Wonder and from the title, and treat the 30-minute field as a listing line that does not replace them.

The Days of Wonder page checked is not labelled 2025 refresh. Its card list is split into train cards, tickets and a longest-path card. The UK refresh listing instead says 144 cards, plus the board, 225 train tokens, 5 score markers and a rulebook. This guide does not merge those two contents lists into one confirmed box.

Who it is for: a group whose youngest player meets the 8+ line and can hold a hand of cards.

Who it is not for: a group that wants a game under 8, or a short game. The maker time is 30 to 60 minutes, not a 10-minute round.

Ticket to Ride Refresh, USA map, SKU DOW7201N. Checked 8 November 2026. The featured offer was sold by Red Rock Games Limited, the listing sat under Outlet, and stock was low. The count is not printed because it can change. The lines checked did not label this offer New, Used, or Amazon Resale, and they did not state an Amazon Global Store manufacturer-warranty exclusion. A generic Legal warranty widget is not a manufacturer warranty for that seller. The details checked had no manufacturer-warranty catalogue field. Confirm the offer is new before you order. Listing language: English.

Check price on Amazon

Ticket to Ride Europe, a different map

The Days of Wonder page for Ticket to Ride Europe says 2 to 5 players, ages 8+, and 30 to 60 minutes. The map is Europe. That page describes tunnels and ferry crossings, and its contents list includes station pieces. The text checked there does not say whether the original game is required. The UK listing description says Europe is a complete game and does not require the original. An English rules file hosted with the Days of Wonder rules uses the same header: 30 to 60 minutes, 8+, and 2 to 5 players.

The Asmodee UK page says players 2 to 5, age 8+, and a playing time of 60 minutes. It does not state a language. The UK listing model is DOW7202NA and the part number is DOW7202N. The title says 30 to 60 minutes. A listing field says 45 minutes. Those three times are all on current pages. This guide does not pick one of them as the only true time. The listing details checked had no language row, so the language in that box is not confirmed here.

Ticket to Ride Europe, model DOW7202NA. Checked 8 November 2026. The featured offer was in stock, shipper and seller Amazon. The lines checked did not label the offer Used, Amazon Resale, or Amazon Global Store, and they did not state a manufacturer-warranty exclusion. No manufacturer-warranty catalogue field and no language row were in the details checked. A generic Legal warranty widget is not a manufacturer warranty. The condition word New was not on the lines checked. Confirm the offer is new, and confirm the language in the box. Part number: DOW7202N.

Check price on Amazon

Prime Climb: multiplication, with no UK button

The Math for Love game page describes Prime Climb as a game for ages 10+, or from age 8 with adult guidance, about multiplication, division and prime numbers. The how-to-play page says 2 to 4 players, roughly 10 minutes per player, and ages 10 and up. Players roll two dice and add, subtract, multiply or divide to move pawns toward 101. The colour code on the board is part of the rules. None of that is a promise that play will teach those operations, and this page does not report a classroom result.

The how-to-play page links an official English rules file and rule files in French, German, Dutch, Spanish, Serbian, Korean and Polish. Those are downloads, not a checked UK box. The same page links a separate rules file titled for younger players (6+). This guide did not use that file as the age. The age on the game page stays 10+, or 8+ with adult guidance. The contents of the 6+ file were not reviewed for this page.

No Amazon UK listing for Prime Climb was confirmed on 8 November 2026. There is no button. The game is sold by Math for Love. Read the age on the copy you buy.

Sum Swamp: addition and subtraction, ages 5+

The Learning Resources UK page for Sum Swamp, item LER5052, says ages 5+ and 2 to 4 players. It describes rolling dice to solve addition or subtraction and move across the swamp. The same page says the set includes a game board, 4 markers, 2 number dice, 1 operation die, and a multilingual directions guide. It does not state a play time, and it does not name a single language.

The UK Amazon listing matches that item number, the 5+ title, 2 to 4 players, and multilingual directions. The manufacturer line says Learning Resources (UK Direct Account). The recommended-age field says 5 to 9 years. A how-to-play section on the listing uses numbers 1 to 6 as the example range, and it says players do not need to read. That 1 to 6 line is listing text. The maker page checked describes simple addition and subtraction and does not print the 1 to 6 range. The listing also says the game suits Reception, Year 1 and Year 2. That school-year line is listing text, not the maker age. The maker age stays 5+. An estimated-playing-time field says 60 minutes. The maker page does not, so this guide does not call 60 minutes the maker time. A warning says it is not suitable under 36 months. That warning does not lower the 5+ age.

The maker page describes play as addition and subtraction practice. This guide does not turn that description into a fluency result.

Who it is for: players at the 5+ label who are working on simple sums, including a group that is not reading yet, which is what the listing says.

Who it is not for: children under 5, if you follow the maker page. It is also a poor fit if the group has already left simple sums, because the listing's own example range stops at 6.

Sum Swamp, item LER5052, ages 5+. Checked 8 November 2026. The featured offer was in stock, shipper and seller Amazon. The lines checked did not label the offer Used, Amazon Resale, or Amazon Global Store, and they did not state a manufacturer-warranty exclusion. No manufacturer-warranty catalogue field was in the details checked. A generic Legal warranty widget is not a manufacturer warranty. The condition word New was not on the lines checked. Confirm the offer is new. The maker page and the listing both say the directions are multilingual, and neither names one language for the pack.

Check price on Amazon

Zingo: picture and word matching, ages 4+

The Ravensburger US page for ThinkFun Zingo, item 44007700, says an educational game, 2 to 6 players, ages 4 to 99, about 20 minutes. Tiles show pictures and words. There are two levels of play. The page describes matching those tiles to cards. This guide does not treat that description as a measured reading gain.

The Ravensburger UK Zingo page says ages 4 and up and 2 or more players. The text checked does not show item 44007700, a 2 to 6 count, or a 20-minute time. Do not assume that UK page is the same pack as the Amazon part number.

On the UK Amazon listing, part 44007700 and model number 7700, the title says age 4 years up. Bullets say ages 3 years up, and "2 or more" players. The number-of-players field says 6. The recommended-age field says 36 months to 8 years. The language field says English. The playing-time field says 20 minutes. A choking warning says not under 36 months, and another warning line says strangulation hazard. The 36-month line is a small-parts warning. It is not a reason to start at 3. This guide follows item 44007700: 4+, 2 to 6 players, about 20 minutes. The Global Store note says age ratings and language may differ from a local product, so check the box that arrives.

Who it is for: players at the maker age of 4+ who are matching pictures and words, with a second level on the same cards.

Who it is not for: children under 4, if you follow the maker item. Confident readers may find picture matching too light. That is a judgement from the rules, not a play test.

Zingo, part 44007700. Follow the maker age of 4+, not the 3+ bullets. Checked 8 November 2026. The featured offer was Amazon Global Store, shipper and seller Amazon US, sold from abroad, and stock was low. The count is not printed. Amazon states that international products may differ from local products, including age ratings and the language of the product, labelling or instructions, and that the manufacturer warranty will not apply. That offer sentence is not the catalogue field. The catalogue field Manufacturer Warranty Description reads No Warranty. The lines checked did not label the offer Amazon Resale. Confirm condition, language and returns before you order.

Check price on Amazon

Scrabble Junior: letters, ages 6+ for the UK Mattel pack

The button on this page is Mattel Games Scrabble Junior, model Y9667, part 900 Y9667, UK English Edition. The Mattel UK page for Y9667 prints an age grade of 6Y+. The UK Amazon title says ages 6+, 2 to 4 players, English Edition, country format United Kingdom, language English. This page uses 6+.

The same Mattel UK page, and a bullet on the UK listing, also say ages 5 and up. That marketing line does not lower the 6Y+ age grade. A Hasbro US page for Scrabble Junior says 5+. Hasbro and Mattel are not the same edition of this pack. The Hasbro page does not certify Y9667 and it is not used as the age here. A Mattel instruction file for Y9667 is an English and Arabic sheet. It prints Age 6+ and 2 to 4 players, and its rules also describe one side as about 5 to 8 and the other as 7 plus. That bilingual sheet is not used to put the UK English Edition under 6.

One side of the board is letter matching to words already printed. The other side is for players to make their own words. That description is from the Mattel UK page. The listing's number-of-players field says 4, while the title and the Mattel UK page say 2 to 4. Play time is not stated on the Mattel UK page or in the listing details checked.

The UK toy-safety block is not an age. It says a recommended age of 1 month and a manufacturer minimum of 6 months. The manufacturer recommended-age field says 6 months to 3 years. Those fields contradict the 6+ title and the 6Y+ age grade. A warning says the game is not suitable under 36 months because of small parts. That warning does not make 3 the start age, and it does not lower 6+.

Who it is for: players at the 6+ age grade who are matching letters, with a second side for making words later.

Who it is not for: children under 6, on the age grade used here. Also a weak fit for players who already want the full Scrabble game. This page does not review that full game.

Scrabble Junior, Mattel Y9667, UK English Edition. Age on this button: 6+. Checked 8 November 2026. The featured offer was in stock, shipper and seller Amazon, with delivery lines of 9 November and 11 November. The lines checked did not label the featured offer Used, Amazon Resale, or Amazon Global Store, and they did not state a manufacturer-warranty exclusion. The catalogue field Manufacturer Warranty Description reads 5118 Year Limited Warranty. That catalogue line is not the offer warranty. A generic Legal warranty widget is not that catalogue line. Do not use the 1-month or 6-month toy-safety fields, and do not use a Hasbro 5+ page, as the age. Listing language: English.

Check price on Amazon

Timeline: history cards, ages 8+

The Zygomatic page for Timeline says 2 to 6 players, ages 8+, about 15 minutes, and 96 cards plus a rule booklet. Players place events, inventions and discoveries in order on a shared line. The page links an English rulebook. Cards have to be read. This is not a history course, and a correct card does not certify a history fact beyond what is printed on that card.

The UK listing is the 2025 refresh, model ASMZYGTIM0101EN, part ZYGTIM0101EN, language English, 96 cards. The title and the product details say 2 to 6 players and 15 minutes. One bullet says 2 to 8 players, ages 8 and up. Follow 2 to 6 from Zygomatic and from the product details, and treat 2 to 8 as a conflicting bullet. The recommended-age field reads 8 to 8 years. Read it as a minimum of 8, in line with the title, not as an upper age of 8. A warning says not suitable under 5 years, for use under adult supervision. That does not make it a 5+ game.

Who it is for: a group at the 8+ line that can read the event cards and wants a short round.

Who it is not for: players who cannot yet read the cards. The 15-minute line is the maker time for this edition, not a promise that every group finishes then.

Timeline, 2025 refresh, model ASMZYGTIM0101EN, ages 8+. Checked 8 November 2026. The featured offer was in stock, shipper and seller Amazon. The lines checked did not label the offer Used, Amazon Resale, or Amazon Global Store, and they did not state a manufacturer-warranty exclusion. No manufacturer-warranty catalogue field was in the details checked. A generic Legal warranty widget is not a manufacturer warranty. The condition word New was not on the lines checked. Confirm the offer is new. Listing language: English. One bullet says 2 to 8 players. The maker page and the product-details row say 2 to 6.

Check price on Amazon

Timeline Twist, a co-operative listing

Timeline Twist is a different game. The UK title says ages 8+, 2 to 6 players, and about 20 minutes, and it describes a co-operative round. A bullet says players try to play all 36 cards. The included-components line says 100 cards. This guide does not settle that card count. A Zygomatic page for this model was not found on 8 November 2026. A Zygomatic page for Timeline Twist Pop Culture lists 100 cards, and that page was not confirmed as ASIN B0C3RY45N7. Do not mix the two. The model on the listing is ASMTIMET01C110EN and the part number is TIMET01B100EN. Those codes do not match. No language row was in the details checked. Warnings say not under 36 months, not under 10 months, and only for domestic use. None of those warnings is a start age. The title age stays 8+.

Timeline Twist. Checked 8 November 2026. The featured offer was in stock, shipper and seller Amazon. The featured offer was not labelled Amazon Resale or Amazon Global Store, and it did not state a manufacturer-warranty exclusion. No manufacturer-warranty catalogue field and no language row were in the details checked. A generic Legal warranty widget is not a manufacturer warranty. The condition word New was not on the lines checked. A customer review on the listing describes a used box. That review does not prove the featured offer is used, and it does not prove it is new. Confirm the offer is new, and confirm the language in the box. Model ASMTIMET01C110EN. Part TIMET01B100EN.

Check price on Amazon

Before you order

  • Check again before 27 November 2026. Black Friday can change the featured seller, whether the offer is new, and whether stock is low. This page does not print a shop price or a stock count.
  • Catalogue warranty is not the offer warranty. Scrabble Junior's catalogue field says 5118 Year Limited Warranty. Zingo's catalogue field says No Warranty. Neither field is the warranty sentence on the featured offer. Only Zingo's offer stated a manufacturer-warranty exclusion, and it did so because it is Amazon Global Store.
  • New versus another condition. None of the seven featured offers printed the word New on the lines checked. None was labelled Amazon Resale. Ticket to Ride Refresh was a marketplace seller under Outlet. Zingo was an import. Confirm condition on the day you order.
  • Same name, different listing. The educational Christmas gifts guide uses other UK buttons for some of these names, including a different Zingo listing and a different Ticket to Ride listing. Its Timeline button is the same 2025 refresh ASIN as this page, but that guide's table says 2 to 8 players. This page follows Zygomatic at 2 to 6. That guide also lists Scrabble Junior at 5+. This page does not. Mattel Y9667 stays at 6+. Do not mix the buttons.
  • Hands-on science is a different guide. For kits rather than board games, see science kits for kids by age.

FAQ

What are the best educational board games for families?

This page covers Ticket to Ride, Prime Climb, Sum Swamp, Zingo, Scrabble Junior and Timeline because the makers describe a subject: map routes, multiplication, sums, picture and word matching, letters, or historical order. That is a sourcing choice, not a test score and not a ranking from play. Start with the youngest player's age on the maker page, then read the UK listing beside it.

What suits a 5, 8 or 10 year old on these labels?

At 5, Sum Swamp is the maker 5+ game. Scrabble Junior on this page is Mattel Y9667 at 6+, not a 5+ game. A Hasbro page that says 5+ is a different edition and is not used. Do not use the listing fields that say 1 month or 6 months. At 8, Ticket to Ride and Timeline are 8+. Prime Climb's game page allows 8+ only with adult guidance, and its main line is 10+. At 10, Prime Climb is the game the maker marks 10+. A separate Prime Climb file titled 6+ was not used as the age.

Is Ticket to Ride an educational game?

The rules ask players to read a map of routes, choose cards and add scores. Days of Wonder presents that as a train game. A learning result is not stated on the maker page checked, and this guide does not add one. The listing's educational-objective line is catalogue text, not a measured outcome.

Which of these are maths games?

Sum Swamp is addition and subtraction at the maker age of 5+, with multilingual directions and no maker play time. Prime Climb is multiplication, division and primes at 10+, or 8+ with adult guidance, for 2 to 4 players, at roughly 10 minutes per player on the how-to-play page. Neither description is a promise of fluency.

How many players, and how long?

Use the table, because a few listings disagree with the maker. In short: Zingo is 2 to 6 and about 20 minutes on item 44007700. Sum Swamp is 2 to 4, and the maker text checked states no play time. Scrabble Junior is 2 to 4 on the UK title and the Mattel UK page, and the listing field says 4. Play time for that pack was not stated. Ticket to Ride is 2 to 5 and 30 to 60 minutes on Days of Wonder, with other times printed on the Europe shop page and on listing fields. Timeline is 2 to 6 and about 15 minutes on Zygomatic. One Timeline bullet says 2 to 8. Timeline Twist's title says 2 to 6 and about 20 minutes. Prime Climb is 2 to 4 and roughly 10 minutes per player.

Can children play these without an adult?

This guide does not say any of them is safe to leave with children. The Sum Swamp listing says play does not need reading. Zingo uses pictures and words, and the UK listing has a small-parts warning under 36 months. Scrabble Junior on this page is 6+, and the UK listing also warns that it is not suitable under 36 months. Prime Climb's maker asks for adult guidance under 10. Follow the warning in the box you buy.

More from the site: Kids · Family life · Homeschool · How we review · Affiliate disclosure · About